August 30, 2011

I Just Got The Shadow Girl by John Larkin

Today I received a copy of The Shadow Girl by John Larkin in the mail, thanks to Random House Australia, and I thought I would share with you the cover. It is one of my favourite covers of this year and I am really looking forward to reading it; it sounds like it will be a breath of fresh air, an escape from all the fantasy that's spreading like an epidemic (it might sound as if i hate fantasy, but in truth I love it. I do love a nice reality book too :)! )

August 24, 2011

The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove Cover Compare + Comparison

Ok, so I read the Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove with the cover in the middle, and I never really thought that it was the right projection of what Natalie was described as and what I imagined her to be. So, in short, I didn't like the middle cover.

Although I liked the purple theme (very Natalie) I didn't think that the girl on the front was a good representation of Natalie. I have however, come to the conclusion that the cover on the left is both graphically pleasing with the radiating violet dress that I imagined Natalie in.

Oh, and no, I haven't forgotten the cover on the left; I think that it is a good cover, although, it comes in second.

What do you think??
Is it spicy purple, radiating violet or electric blue for you??


August 23, 2011

Beware of the Froggies French Author Challenge!

I have decided to join the We Want you to Read French Authors Challenge!

I am taking the Jules Verne challenge of 10 books in one year,
are you going to join??

I am starting with:

  • Le Petit Prince
  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  • Selected Short Stories of Guy de Maupassant
 If you're interested in the challenge, check out the source here.

 The Books:

August 21, 2011

REVIEW: The Ink Trilogy by Cornelia Funke

The Ink Trilogy
2. Inkspell
3. Inkdeath

Meggie and her father Mo have the ability to read a book and bring it into reality, as real as them. 
Having always been close with her father since her mothers mysterious disappearance, she is used to knowing everything about her father's life, so when an enigmatic figure comes to their house and claims that he knows Mo and Meggie, Meggie is shocked and wonders what her father is keeping from her. Meggie soon learns why her father has never read aloud since her mothers disappearance, and why she has always lived a life moving around. Odious Villain Capricorn is after them, he himself was once read out of a book by Mo, and he wants someone else to be read out too.

The Ink Trilogy by Cornelia Funke is a fast-paced book that allows the reader to imagine what it would be like to bring your most beloved characters from classic books, such as the crocodile from Peter Pan, or Huckleberry Finn, to come alive and become part of our world.

Funke has carefully crafted her characters and plot, resulting in a one of a kind novel that is a must read for anybody who has ever wanted the perfect fantasy book.

This book is great for guys or girls, 9-13. Although, I am sure that even adults would enjoy this wonderfully weaved novel.
Psst... Inkheart is one of my favourite books of all time!

Other Reviews:
@ The Guardian by Dianna Wynne Jones
@ Reading Matters. This also has reader comments!
@ Goodreads - Ann
@ Goodreads - Kathryn

Other Novels by Cornelia Funke

August 20, 2011

Nothing can top a hunchback...

Today, when I was rummaging through a charity shop book sale, I grabbed a vintage copy of The Hunchback of Notre Dame on my way out... for $3.... deep red cover, gold engraved writing, pages lightly spotted from age and a nice yellow weaved bookmark... amazing!

Later on in the day, when I met with a friend and told him about my splendifirous book buy, he replied with...

"No Vampires, the best there is... a hunchback!" 

then, my mum walked by and chimed in with...

"Nothing can top a hunchback!"

So, I am beginning to read for the first time, The Hunchback of Notre Dame. I hope to read a book a day, 11 to go, I should finish soon... Keep reading for more updates.

August 19, 2011

Teaser: Starstruck by Cyn Balog

Gwendolyn "Dough" X doesn't think she has much going for her—she carries a few extra pounds, her family struggles with their small bakery in a town full of millionaires, and the other kids at her New Jersey high school don't seem to know that she exists. Thank the stars for her longtime boyfriend, Philip P. Wishman—or "Wish." He moved away to California three years ago, when they were 13, but then professed his love for her via e-mail, and he's been her long-distance BF ever since.
At the beginning of her junior year, though, Wish e-mails that he's moving back to Jersey. Great, right? Well, except that Dough has gained about 70 pounds since the last time Wish saw her, while Wish—according to his Facebook photos—has morphed into a blonde god. Convinced that she'll be headed for Dumpsville the minute Wish lays eyes on her, Dough delays their meeting as long as she possibly can.
But when she sees Wish at school, something amazing happens. He looks at Dough like she's just as gorgeous as he is. But Wish is acting a little weird, obsessed with the sun and freaked out by rain. And the creepy new guy working at the bakery, Christian, is convinced that there's more to Wish's good looks than just healthy eating and lots of sun. He tells Dough that a mark on Wish's neck marks him as a member of the Luminati—an ancient cult of astrologers who can manipulate the stars to improve their lives. Is Wish and Dough's love meant to be—or are they star-crossed?

@ I just want to sit here and read! 
Kindleaholic @ Goodreads 
@ Real Teen Review
@ Bookwormy Girl
@ Hippies Beauty and Books Oh My! 


August 18, 2011

REVIEW: Paper Towns by John Green

Quentin has always admired Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she comes through his bedroom window in the middle of the night, demanding his presence as her chauffeur as part of her wild revenge plot, what can Q do?
After the night that they make comedies about, Q wakes to a new morning, expecting that things will go back to reasonably normal. Except it's not. Margo's run away, and it doesn't help that she has left Q a string of seemingly dead-ended clues for him to find her... 

Fans of Rachel Cohn, David Levithan and E. Lockhart will love this novel that bursts with the usual John Green flair. Full of knowledge bombs, comical anecdotes, and amusing situations, and many insightful observations about life, Paper Towns.

Although I did love the main characters of Ben, Q and the rest of the gang, I did feel that at some points, I found that Margo was really annoying. Sorry Margo.

I loved the witty banter that went on between characters, it really progressed the novel, as well as being humorous. As well as, at some times, just downright silly.

Overall, it seems that a lot of work had gone into planning the plot and the characters and it paid off as Paper towns is a stirring novel that is an easy and pleasurable read.

I recommend it for guys and girls 13-16. Enjoy!

August 01, 2011

Thank you Mr UPS man...

Today I received a pleasant text message telling me that my package had arrived. Well, I was really excited. I have received the books I ordered from (yes, I order books online, but only the ones that I can't get in bookstores. Shame. Don't despair - I am still a devout book shop book buyer! )
Sorry for that detour, anyway, here is the line up of the convicted online ordered books...

Looking forward to reading them, anyone have any suggestions as to whom should go first??

Other Posts you might Like

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...